Bilateral Affairs

The main objectives of the Bilateral Affairs Division are to inculcate, preserve and enhance strong bilateral ties with foreign partners, in line with Seychelles’ foreign policy. The Bilateral Affairs Division also plays a role in strengthening and developing Seychelles’ position throughout the global system of international relations, honouring the principles of mutual respect, the rule of law, and peaceful co-existence.

The bilateral relations in which the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Tourism are involved, cover the spheres of Politics, Military and Security, Economy, pertinent issues related to Small Island Developing States (SIDs), Climate Change, Tourism, Sustainable Development, Environment, Maritime Security, Trade and Investment, Education, Social and Cultural, Science and Technology and Infrasture Development.

The Division’s primary focus is also to promote, develop, preserve and protect Seychelles’ various interests through proactive diplomacy.

This Division is divided into 4 Regional Groups.

  1. The Americas
  2. Europe
  3. Middle East, Asia, and Pacific
  4. Africa and the Indian Ocean

Among the main functions and responsibilities of the various Regional Groups are:

• Negotiate on issues of common interest with other countries, and develop relations with foreign missions;

• Monitor and prepare reports and evaluations on political and economic developments as well as on other matters that relate to foreign countries which have implications for Seychelles’ interests;

• Implement all Government decisions and instructions in protecting Seychelles’ bilateral relations with other countries in line with Seychelles’ foreign policy.


The staff of the Division and their responsibilities

Ms. Lindy Ernesta

Director General

Ms. Wendy Isnard



(+248) 4283559

Ms. Ingrid Labrosse

Second Secretary


 (+248) 4283613

Mr. Jonathan Pool

Third Secretary


 (+248) 4283500

Mrs. Louisa Lepathy

Third Secretary


 (+248) 4283504

Mr. Davis Mathiot

Third Secretary


(+248) 4283511

Mr. James Carpin

Third Secretary


 (+248) 4283554

Ms. Elsa Lepathy

Third Secretary


 (+248) 4283647