Press release

Ambassador Lloyd among final nominees for AU Commissioner of Social Affairs

January 31, 2012

Ambassador Marie-Pierre Lloyd has been nominated for the position of Commissioner for Social Affairs at the African Union Commission elections due to be held during the 18th Ordinary Summit of the African Union currently being held, in Addis Abba, Ethiopia.

Ambassador Lloyd, who is currently attending the AU Summit with the Seychelles delegation, was nominated for the post by the Seychelles Government last year and is currently one of five remaining candidates following earlier elimination rounds. 

“Ambassador Lloyd’s strong progress as a serious candidate for this eminent post is a testament to the calibre of professionals that Seychelles can offer the African Union and indeed the wider international community,” said the Minister for Foreign Affairs, Mr. Jean-Paul Adam,

“Her hard work and wealth of experience, particularly in the fields of social development, has made her one of the strongest candidates for this post and her successful navigation of the complicated and highly competitive process is in itself, a huge victory for Africa’s smallest nation whether or not her nomination is successful.”

The Roving Ambassador for Women’s and Children’s Issues and former Minister for Health Amb. Lloyd began her extensive record as a civil servant in 1976 since which she has dedicated her career to promoting and advocating for human and social development as a critical driver for sustainable development.

“I am honoured to been nominated by the Seychelles Government. Whatever the outcome of the elections, Seychelles would have positioned itself as an active member of the AU,” said the Ambassador.

The Seychelles delegation to the AU Summit is being lead the Principal Secretary for Foreign Affairs, Ambassador Maurice Loustau-Lalanne and includes High Commissioner Joseph Nourrice, and the Director for International Relations at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ms. Michelle Murray.

Ambassador Lloyd, who is the only East African candidature, is the first Seychellois to be nominated for a post of Commissioner in the AU.

Editor Note’s:


    The Commission is the Secretariat of the Union entrusted with executive functions. It is composed of 10 Officials: A Chairperson, a Deputy Chairperson; Eight (8) Commissioners and Staff members. The structure represents the Union and protects its interest under the auspices of the Assembly of Heads of State and Government as well as the Executive Committee. The AU Commission is made up of Portfolios. They are: Peace and Security; Political Affairs; Trade and Industry; Infrastructure and Energy; Social Affairs; Rural Economy and Agriculture; Human Resources, Science and Technology; and Economic Affairs.


The mission of the Commission is become “An efficient and value-adding institution driving the African integration and development process in close collaboration with African Union Member States, the Regional Economic Communities and African citizens”.

The values to guide and govern the functioning and operations of the Commission are: 

  • Respect for diversity and team work;
  • Think Africa above all;
  • Transparency and accountability;
  • Integrity and impartiality;
  • Efficiency and professionalism; and
  • Information and knowledge sharing.