Press release

Executive Director for ADB East African Constituency bids farewell

January 29, 2013

The Executive Director for the East African Constituency at the African Development Bank (ADB), Ms. Mary Muduuli, has paid a farewell call on President James Michel at State House this morning as she ends a three year tenure in Seychelles in June.

President James Michel thanked Ms. Muduuli for her personal efforts and support given, especially throughout the economic reform programme being implemented by Seychelles.

“The Government of Seychelles expresses its appreciation and support of the African Development Bank. We are sure that this support will continue especially now that Seychelles has launched an appeal to local as well as international donors for financial assistance in order to address the effects of the disaster which occurred in the past few days and to implement measures for the improvement of some infrastructures,” said President Michel.

President Michel and Ms. Muduuli discussed the importance of the blue economy for Small Island States. Mr. Michel spoke of the need for sustainable strategies for regional integration of the blue economy.

Ms. Muduuli has described her time in office as a great achievement as she has been able to witness Seychelles succeeding to maintain the progress in implementing important economic reforms, to stabilise the economy, to manage debt and that it has restructured substantially.

“It was an honour to represent Seychelles and I thanked President Michel for giving me the audience and support each time I was here. We have been able to do some good things such as the laying of the submarines cable which has provided a boost for private sector’s involvement in terms of communication and the bank will continue its financial support to the Seychelles in different areas,” said Ms. Muduuli.

Editor’s Note:

The African Development Bank Group comprises the:

African Development Bank (ADB)

African Development Fund (ADF)

Nigerian Trust Fund (NTF)

The current President of the ADB Group is H.E. Dr. Donald KABERUKA. He was elected president in July 2005 by the Board of Governors of the Bank for a five year term after which he may be re-elected for one other term only. He officially took office on September 01, 2005. As President, Dr. Kaberuka chairs the Boards of the African Development Bank and the African Development Fund, the soft loan arm of the Group.

The African Development Bank is a regional multilateral development bank, engaged in promoting the economic development and social progress of its Regional Member Countries (RMCs) in Africa. The Bank was established in 1964 but started functioning in 1966 with its headquarters in Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire. However, the Bank’s headquarters was relocated temporarily to Tunisia in 2003 due to conflict in Cote d’Ivoire. It continues to operate from Tunisia today.

The East Africa Constituency consists of the following countries: Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Seychelles, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda

Ms Mary Muduuli, the substantive candidate from Uganda was elected as the Executive Director for the constituency for the period 2010 – 2013. Her service will end in June.