Press release

New Ambassador for Indonesia Accredited

January 11, 2017

The new Indonesian Ambassador to the Republic of Seychelles, H.E. Mr Soehardjono Sastromihardo, presented his credentials to President Danny Faure at State House this morning.

President Faure congratulated Ambassador Sastromihardo on his appointment and affirmed that with his accreditation, Seychelles and Indonesia will continue to work together to take collaborations between the two countries to even greater heights.

The President and the Ambassador discussed key areas of cooperation such as trade, agriculture, and tourism, and the possibility of new avenues of cooperation, primarily in the transfer of knowledge and skills for the development of small businesses. The sharing of expertise will in return provide greater economic growth for both countries.

Ambassador Sastromihardo also conveyed an invitation to President Faure and a delegation from Seychelles to attend the Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) Summit to be held in March this year of which both Seychelles and Indonesia are members.

Speaking to the media after the meeting, Ambassador Sastromihardo expressed his satisfaction at the bilateral relations between Indonesia and Seychelles that have been shared for over 30 years. He averred that through the discussions held today, Indonesia and Seychelles have explored ways to further consolidate and enhance collaborations on existing and potential new areas of cooperation.

The new Ambassador also presented his sympathy and condolences to the people of Seychelles following the passing of Former President Mancham. President Faure thanked him saying, “I am touched by your words about Former President Mancham. He had shared many stories about his visits to Indonesia and I know he was a good friend of the country,” said President Faure.

Also present at the meeting was the Foreign Secretary of the Department of Foreign Affairs, Ambassador Marie-Louise Potter, Diplomatic Advisor to the President, Ambassador Callixte D’offay, Chief of Presidential Protocol and Presidential Affairs, Mrs Jacqueline Moustache-Belle, members of the Indonesian delegation, Mr Yoshi Iskandar and Mr Andaru Dhaniswara, the Honorary Consul for Indonesia, Mr Harry Tirant, and Desk Officer for Indonesia, Mr Kurtis Lespoir.