Press release

Newly accredited Ambassador of Portugal pays courtesy call on Principal Secretary Fock Tave

February 22, 2022

Newly accredited Ambassador of Portugal, H.E Mr. António Costa Moura paid a courtesy call on the Principal Secretary for Foreign Affairs, Ambassador Vivianne Fock Tave on Monday 22nd February 2022.

The Principal Secretary for Foreign Affairs acknowledged the good bilateral and multilateral relations that Seychelles and Portugal have shared throughout the years. She also seized the opportunity to express the Government’s gratitude for Portugal’s support in the fight against piracy in the Indian Ocean through the Operation ATALANTA.

On his part, Ambassador Moura who was previously posted in Helsinki, Finland proceeded to brief Ambassador Fock Tave of his diplomatic career occupying various key roles in Africa, Europe, and America. “The minister gave me this opportunity and I am so glad to serve the country in this very important post”, expressed Ambassador Moura.

He also briefed PS Fock Tave on the engagement of the Portuguese Government in combatting the terrorism threats in Cabo Delgado, in the North of Mozambique. Both agreed that the situation in Mozambique affects the whole region. As a member of SADC, Ambassador Fock Tave noted that Seychelles is concerned about the recent developments in Mozambique.

Both diplomats agreed that Seychelles and Portugal may explore mutually beneficial areas of cooperation in various sectors such as the Blue Economy, Green energy, sustainable tourism, capacity building, and drug management amongst others.

Today, in a ceremony at State House, Ambassador António Costa Moura presented his letters of credence to the President of the Republic of Seychelles, Mr. Wavel Ramkalawan. Ambassador Moura officially becomes the 10th Portuguese Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to the Republic of Seychelles.

Also present at the meeting were Director-General for Bilateral Affairs, Ms. Lindy Ernesta, Director General for Regional Affairs, Mr. Steve Lalande, and senior officials of the Foreign Affairs Department.