Press release

Seychelles assumes chairmanship of Eastern Africa Defence Security Policy Organ

April 27, 2015

The Policy Organ Meeting of the Eastern Africa Standby Force was held in Khartoum, Republic of Sudan from the 20 to 25 April 2015.  This meeting was convened to discuss key policy issues ensuring peace and security by creating a conducive environment for sustainable development and to highlight the principle of rotating the bureau.

The Republic of Seychelles has assumed the responsibility of the chairmanship of the Eastern Africa Defence Security Policy Organ for the coming year within the four levels structure which sits the; Heads of State, Ministers, Chief of Defence Staff and Experts.

Seychelles Ambassador Joseph Nourrice officially accepted the Chair of EADS on behalf the Republic of Seychelles. Upon assuming the Chair, Ambassador Nourrice highlighted that Seychelles has the political will and must strive toward providing conducive environment for development both regionally and internationally whilst not loosing sight of the intended targets enshrined in EASF. He concluded by appealing to the Member States to unite in order to achieve universal goals of peace and security.   

The meeting was convened by the President of the Republic of Sudan, Mr Omar Hassan Ahmad al- Bashir, who in his opening remarks reiterated the need to maintain a strong force to deter the current and emerging threats  in the regions and beyond.

Other members of the Seychelles delegation comprised Brigadier Leopold Payet; Chief of Defence Forces, Mr. Ernest Quatre; Commissioner of Police, and lieutenant Colonel Georges Adeline


Editors Notes


  • The Eastern Africa Standby Force (EASF) is one of the five regional forces under the African Union umbrella “African Peace and Security Architecture.”
  •  The Force is at a Brigade level; that is approximately 5000 personnel comprising of three components; Military, Police and Civilian on standby mode.
  • The headquarters of the EASF is in Nairobi-Kenya, and Logistic Base is situated in Addis Ababa- Ethiopia. 
  • The force was created in 2004  whereby it went through several phases of operationalization  and preparedness  processes.  By November 2014, after a successful   Field Training Exercise in the Republic of Ethiopia, the African Union declared the EASF “Full Operational Capability”.
  • The EASF includes ten members; Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, Rwanda, and Uganda.
  • The EASF is being driven by a Policy Organ.The Chairperson of the policy Organ is the Head of State within an annual rotation basis.