Press release


August 28, 2012

During his state visit to Sri Lanka, President James Michel and his delegation visited the Sri Lankan Parliament and met with the Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa. Also present were the Sri Lankan Deputy Speaker Chandima Weerakkody,the Leader of the House Nimal Siripala de Silva, Chief Government Whip Minister Dinesh Gunawardena,  Minister of Fisheries & Aquatic Resources Development Dr Rajitha Senaratne, and Chief Opposition Whip John Amarathunga.

The President was given a tour of the Parliament, which has 225 members who are elected by proportional representation for six-year terms. The President and the Speaker spoke about the establishment of the Seychelles – Sri Lanka Parliamentary Friendship Association, for which Sri Lankan Deputy Minister for External Affairs Neomal Perera has been named as Chairman. Seychellois parliamentarians are expected to meet with their Sri Lankan counterparts soon to complete the association.  The focal point in the Seychelles National Assembly is Hon. Derek Samson, the elected member for Anse Royale.

President Michel noted the importance of exchanging ideas between the parliaments of the two countries in order to tackles the common challenges that are faced by the two island nations. The Speaker expressed his full support to strengthen cooperation between the two countries.

After the conclusion of the talks, President Michel visited the Special Ranaviru Monument opposite the Parliament and presented floral tributes to monument for Sri Lanka’s war heroes.